CBS Sports Network Signs Multi-Year Contract With NCHC

CBS Sports Network
has agreed to a multi-year agreement with the new National Collegiate Hockey
Conference, beginning in the 2013-2014 season.  CBS Sports Network will be the exclusive national television
partner for the conference, which will feature eight of the nation’s top
college hockey programs.  The
announcement was made today by Dan
, Senior Vice President, Programming, CBS Sports Network, and Jim Scherr, Commissioner of the

The agreement calls for a minimum of 18 conference
games, including the National’s semifinal and championship contests. Currently six
teams that will be in the new conference are ranked in the USCHO.com Top 20

“With top teams and passionate fan bases, the National
is poised to be an elite college hockey conference, and we’re thrilled to be the
national television partner,” said Weinberg.  “College hockey has been a staple of our programming and
we’re pleased to expand our coverage and further serve fans with compelling and
competitive conference action.” 

We are delighted to be associated with the preeminent national broadcaster
of college hockey,” said Scherr. 
“It is our goal to be the premier single-sport conference in
intercollegiate athletics and the unmatched exposure and production quality
that will be provided by CBS Sports Network will contribute significantly to
realizing that vision.”

Currently, CBS Sports Network’s comprehensive
college hockey coverage includes action from Hockey East, ECAC, CCHA, WCHA and Atlantic

About CBS Sports Network:

CBS Sports Network, the cable channel of CBS Sports,
features comprehensive sports programming. The Network covers more than 300
live games annually, showcasing 30 men’s and women’s sports, in addition to a
variety of studio shows, documentaries and original programs. CBSSN’s live
programming is highlighted by college sports including, teams from the Mountain
West, Conference USA, Atlantic 10, Patriot League, the United States Naval
Academy and the United States Military Academy, as well as Major League
Lacrosse and National Lacrosse League. The Network also airs the weekday “Tim
Brando Show” and is the new home of Professional Bull Riders (PBR). 

CBS Sports Network is available across the country through
local cable, video and telco providers on Verizon FiOS Channel 94 and ATT
U-Verse Channel 643 (1643 in HD) and via satellite on DirecTV Channel 613 and
Dish Network Channel 152. For more information, including a full programming
schedule and how to get CBS Sports Network, go to www.cbssportsnetwork.com.


About National
Collegiate Hockey Conference:

The National Collegiate Hockey
Conference is the eight-school, Division I men’s hockey conference that will
start play in the 2013-14 season. 
The conference’s member institutions are: Colorado College, University
of Denver, Miami University, University of Minnesota Duluth, University of
Nebraska Omaha, University of North Dakota, St. Cloud State University and
Western Michigan University. 
Dating back to the year 2000, the National Collegiate Hockey Conference
boasts four NCAA National Champions, 14 NCAA Frozen Four appearances, 12
conference regular-season championships and 10 conference tournament
championships.  All eight members
were participants in the NCAA Ice Hockey Championship tournament in one or both
of the last two seasons.  Jim
Scherr, former Chief Executive Officer of the United States Olympic Committee,
is the conference’s Commissioner.

Article source: http://www.wmubroncos.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=4600&ATCLID=205371634

Short URL: http://militaryfeed.com/?p=11979

Posted by on Jan 31 2012. Filed under Navy. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed

Recently Commented